WIPO Case Commentary – Volvo

Written by Karthik Murthy on . Posted in Uncategorized

The Arbitration and Mediation Panel of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has ordered for transfer of two domain names viz., volvobussesindia.com & volvotickets.com in favour of the Volvo Group.

The Order which was made on 11th May 2012 ruled that the respondent Pankaj Dhobal from India has cyber squatted the domain names and has registered them in bad faith.  In the present case, the respondent has been ‘conducting business’ with the subject domain names including having a payment gateway.

It remains to be seen if Volvo will take more pro-active step with respect to the Indian market.  A huge number of domains including www.volvoindia.com appears to have been cybersquatted.

Domain Name Disputes India, are India’s first consultants dealing exclusively with Online Brand Protection & Domain Name Disputes. Domain Name Disputes India offers its clients detailed online brand protection strategies and solutions to protect them from online frauds, cybersquatting, sale of counterfeit goods etc., To know more, please visit www.domaindisputesindia.com., call me @ +91 9840477744 or mail me at [email protected]

Trackback from your site.

Leave a comment